Love, Your Body

My Dearest Mind,

We’ve been together for a very long time. We’ve grown up together and been together since the start, but recently I’ve noticed a change.

A change in our relationship, something too serious not to speak up about. I’ve felt this build up and I need to ask you now…

When did you stop loving me? At what point did you see me in the mirror and reel away in disgust.

When did you start seeing those models in the magazines and on TV and begin wishing they were me?

When did you look in the mirror and begin picking out only the flaws until you felt ashamed to live inside this vessel?

When did you decide the scars define me and the troubles you went through?

When did you allow the size of my thighs and the weight on the scale determine who you are?

When did you begin to allow your perception of me to define us as a whole?

When did you decide to turn a blind eye and forget the logic that you pride yourself in?You decided that what was best for me was the extreme diet you made up, and somehow you were able to commend that within yourself?

Why do you treat me this way?

We are supposed to be a team, working together to make each-other better and stronger.

When did this become a battle? Every man for himself. You decided that I wasn’t worth the trouble so you tried to fix everything yourself.

Can’t you see that the damage done to me is also to you? The hate you project doesn’t do anything but continue to break you. We need to be one, looking out for each-other. Biology paired with soul.

Stop looking at the scale, those are meaningless numbers. Stop listening to the mirror, it just whispers lies.

We are beautiful. Don’t let anyone tell you different.

I’m not naive, I know there will still be a struggle. This is a relationship, it’s impossible to be together so long and never fight. I know you will still be tempted by the beautiful models on the covers. But in those moments, when all you want to do is cry, remember that you, my mind was paired with this body. We are a team: a matching set. A one of a kind creation… and if you think about that… it’s pretty cool.

No one else in this world, in this universe, is you. 7.347 billion people… and you are the only you out there.

I’ve been here since the beginning; helping you and protecting you. Please do this little thing for me: learn to love me. Learn to accept the flaws and the scars and learn to love them; these markings on me are a road-map of where we’ve been and how we’ve grown. They are the most unique picture, it can never be completely copied or remade.

Don’t be ashamed of me. I am beautiful. Every freckle every stretch-mark is a brush of paint.

There is no other work of art quite like me. Like us.

And that is simply amazing.

Love,

Your Body

Leave a Reply

