Why?

As a future theater major and aspiring actress “why?” is a word I’ve been hearing an awful lot.

Why am I majoring in drama? Why am I trying to move to New York City? Why am I not picking a more “reliable” career path? Why am I not double majoring with something safer? Why do I think I can do this? Why do I think I can support myself? Why am I different from every other aspiring actress out there? Why? Why? Why?

To be fair, these are all pretty reasonable questions… but it doesn’t mean that I don’t get tired of hearing them and explaining my reasons.

Yes, being a drama major is risky, but isn’t that what life is? One big giant risk. A risk that I am excited to take.

The question keeps rising “what if the risk is too big?” or “what if I fail?”. Again, those are both valid questions, but I guess the answer is: what is the definition of failure?

For me: failure is never being happy. Failure is not taking the risks within life. Failure is not trying because I’m afraid of failing miserably. To be perfectly clear, I may never become a famous actress. I totally understand that. If I can act as a career (on Broadway or not) my life would be a success. If I can find a career that allows me to use my major I would be happy and my life would be a success. If I end up in a career that maybe I can’t use my major but I have a great life and good friends and I’m happy, then my life would be a success.

Life is hard and I’m going to struggle no matter what I’m doing or what my major is. However, I’m excited to experience life despite the hardships I’ll face. Yes, college is expensive, but I totally and completely believe that it’s worth it.

So yes, being a drama major is a risk. Trying to act as a career is a risk.

Life is a risk that I am excited to take. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

 

Leave a Reply

